Do You Know- Who had the Shortest and Longest Tenure as Chief Justice of India?

Today we will tell you Which Judge had the shortest and longest tenure as Chief Justice of India.

Chief Justice of India is the highest post in the hierarchy of Judiciary in India. The Senior Most Judge of the Supreme Court of India is appointed as the Chief Justice of India.

The First Chief Justice of India was Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania, who held the post from 26 January 1950 to 06 November 1951.

Shortest Tenure

Justice Kamal Narain Singh had the shortest Tenure as Chief Justice of India for 18 days. He was India’s 22nd Chief Justice. 

Born 13 December 1926, he attended Sirsa’s L.R.L.A. High School and Allahabad’s Ewing Christian College before graduating from the University of Allahabad. 

His tenure as Chief Justice was the shortest, lasting only 18 days from 25 November 1991 to 12 December 1991.

Late Justice K N Singh was a lawyer since 1957, specialising in civil, constitutional, and taxes law. 

In 1970, he was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court, and in 1972, he was appointed as a Permanent Judge. 

Later he joined the Supreme Court in 1986 and became Chief Justice of India from November 25, 1991 until December 12, 1991.

Also Read

Longest Tenure as CJI

Justice Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud, who was the 16th Chief Justice of India had the longest tenure as CJI till today.

He took oath as Chief Justice of India on 22 February 1978 and remained in office of CJI till 11 July 1985.

Justice Y V Chadrachud had a tenure of 7 Years 4 Months and 20 days as Chief Justice of India, which nowadays is difficult even for High Court Judges.

Justice Dr D.Y. Chandrachud, who is set to become Chief Justice of India in 2022, is son of Justice Y V Chandrachud.

Born on 12 July 1920 in Pune, Justice YV Chandrachud, was educated at Nutan Marathi Vidyalaya High School and took a degree of Law from ILS Law College Pune. He died on 14 July 2008.

Justice V Y Chandrachud is known for his Judgments in the Habeas Corpus Case (ADM Jabalpur vs Shivkant Shukla), Minerva Mills Case, Shah Bano and many more.

However it should be noted that his son Justice D Y Chandrachud himself disagreed with the Judgement of Justice YV Chandrachud, given in the case of ADM Jabalpur vs Shivkant Shukla.


Rajat Rajan Singh

Editor-in- Chief at Law Trend

Advocate- Allahabad High Court Lucknow

Law Trend
Law Trend
Legal News Website Providing Latest Judgments of Supreme Court and High Court

Related Articles

Latest Articles