BIG: Centre Clears Appointment of Three New Supreme Court Judges- Oath Tomorrow

The Central government has approved the appointments of Justices Satish Chandra Sharma, Augustine George Masih, and Sandeep Mehta as judges of the Supreme Court.

They will be sworn in tomorrow, bringing the total number of judges in the Supreme Court to its full capacity of 34.

The three judges currently hold the positions of Chief Justices in the High Courts of Delhi, Rajasthan, and Gauhati.

The Supreme Court Collegium recommended their elevation based on factors such as seniority, merit, performance, integrity, and diversity.

The resolution also highlights the backlog of cases in the Supreme Court and the need for a full-strength court.

Justice Sharma has served as the Chief Justice for over two years and has extensive experience in various branches of law.

Justice Masih has acquired significant experience in diverse fields of law during his long tenure as a judge.

Justice Mehta, who has been the Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court since February, has served as a judge of the Rajasthan High Court for over 12 years and has provided value through his knowledge and experience.

Related Articles

Latest Articles