Justice Dhiraj Singh Thakur Takes Oath As CJ of Andhra Pradesh High Court

On Friday, Justice Dhiraj Singh Thakur took his oath as Chief Justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

Justice Thakur, the sixth Chief Justice of the High Court, was sworn in by State Governor S. Abdul Nazeer.

The ceremony was attended by Chief Minister Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, cabinet members, opposition leader N. Chandrababu Nadu, high court judges, and other senior officials.

Justice Thakur, a Bombay High Court judge, was recently appointed as Chief Justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court by the Central government.

He took over for Justice Prashant Kumar Mishra, who was elevated to the Supreme Court.

On July 5, the Supreme Court Collegium recommended that Justice Thakur be appointed Chief Justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court.

The position of Chief Justice became vacant on May 19 following the elevation of Justice Mishra.

Justice Thakur earned his LLB from Jammu University and began practising law in 1989. He was registered as an advocate with the Delhi Bar Council.

In 2010, his registration was transferred to the Bar Council of Jammu and Kashmir. In 2013, he was appointed to the Jammu and Kashmir High Court.

He was transferred to the Bombay High Court in June 2022, where he was the senior-most judge.

On January 1, 2019, the Andhra Pradesh High Court was established by a Presidential Order following the bifurcation.

Law Trend
Law Trendhttps://lawtrend.in/
Legal News Website Providing Latest Judgments of Supreme Court and High Court

Related Articles

Latest Articles