

THE UTTAR PRADESH TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY (AMENDMENT) ACT, 2010 [Act No. 05 of 2010] [15th February, 2010]

## **PREAMBLE**

An Act further to amend the Uttar Pradesh Technical University Act, 2000.

It is hereby enacted in the Sixty-first Year of the Republic of India as follows :

Section 1 - Short title and commencement

- (1) This Act may be called the Uttar Pradesh Technical University (Amendment) Act, 2010.
- (2) It shall come into force on such date as the State Government may, by notification, appoint.

Section 2 - Amendment of section 2 of U.P. Act no. 23 of 2000

In section 2 of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University Act, 2000 hereinafter referred to as the principal Act, for clause (h) the following clause shall be substituted, namely:-

"(h) "University" means a university established
under section 3;"

Section 3 - Substitution of sections 3 and 4

For sections 3 and 4 of the principal Act, the following sections shall be substituted, namely:-

- "3.(1) From the date of the commencement of this Act there shall be established a university by the name of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University which shall be called Gautam buddh Technical University, Lucknow from the date of commencement of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University (Amendment) Act, 2010.
- (2) From the date of commencement of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University (Amendment) Act,

Law

- 2010 there shall be established a Technical University at Noida to be known as the Mahamaya Technical University, Gautambuddh Nagar.
- (3) The Chancellor, the Vice-chancellor, the members of the Executive Council and the Academic Council for the time being holding office as such in a University referred to in sub-section (1) or sub-section (2) shall constitute a body corporate by the name of that University."
- "4. (1) The Gautambuddh Technical University, Lucknow shall in exercise of its powers under this Act have territorial jurisdiction over the Azamgarh, Allahabad, Kanpur, Gorakhpur, Jhansi, Devipatan, Faizabad, Bareilly, Lucknow, Varanasi, Chitrakutdham, Basti and Vindhyanchal Divisions.
- (2) The Mahamaya Technical University, Gautambuddh Nagar shall in exercise of its powers under this Act have territorial jurisdiction over the Meerut, Saharanpur, Agra, Aligarh and Moradabad Divisions.
- (3) Every college or institution other than an existing college, imparting technical education in Meerut, Saharanpur, Agra, Aligarh and Moradabad Divisions of the State on the date of the commencement of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University (Amendment) Act, 2010 shall, with effect from such date as may be notified in this

Law

behalf by the State Government, be deemed to be affiliated to the Mahamaya Technical University, Gautambuddh Nagar and shall cease to be affiliated to, or associated with, the Gautam buddh Technical University, Lucknow."

Section 4 - Amendment of section 17

In section 17 of the principal Act, for sub-section (1) the following sub-section shall be substituted, namely:

- "(1) The Executive Council shall consist of:-
- (a) the Vice-chancellor who shall be the chairman thereof;(b) the Pro-vice-chancellor, if any;(c) the Director Indian Institute of Technology,Roorkee, or his nominee not below

the rank of senior professor;

- (d) the Director Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, or his nominee not below the rank of senior professor;
- (e) the Principal Secretary/Secretary to the State Government in the Technical



Education Department or his nominee not below the rank of Special Secretary;

(f) the Principal Secretary/Secretary to the State Government in the Finance

Department or his nominee not below the rank of Special Secretary; (g) Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education or his nominee;

- (h) two reputed Industrialists nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the State Government;
- (i) two eminent technologists nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the State Government;
- (j) two Principals of colleges, by rotation, nominated by the State Government."

Section 5 - Amendment of section 20

In section 20 of the principal Act., in sub-section (1) far clauses (b) and (c) the following clauses shall be substituted, namely:-

"(b) the Principal Secretary/Secretary to the

## State Government in the



Finance Department or his nominee not below the rank of Special

Secretary.
Member

(c) the Principal Secretary/Secretary to the State Government in the

Technical Education Department or his nominee not below the rank of

Special Secretary."
Member

Section 6 - Insertion of new section 40-A

After section 40 of the principal Act, the following section shall be inserted, namely:

"40-A. transitory Provision on the name of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University

With effect from the date of commencement

Law

of the Uttar Pradesh Technical University (Amendment) Act, 2010 any reference to the Uttar Pradesh Technical University in this Act, any rules. Statutes, Ordinance, statuary instruments of any law for the time being in force or in any document or proceedings shall be construed as reference to Gautambuddh Technical University, Lucknow."

Disclaimer: The document is being furnished for information and research purpose only. The content of the document have been obtained from sources we believe to be trustworthy. The Content provided herein is on "As Is" or "As Available Basis". Whilst we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, LawTrend makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy, completeness or correctness of the content. In some cases the Principal Acts and/or Amendment Acts may not be available. Principal Acts may or may not include subsequent amendments. LawTrend expressly disclaims all responsibility for any loss, injury, liability or damage of any kind resulting from and arising out of, or any way related to the above Content. For authoritative text, please refer relevant government publication or the gazette notification.